Ode to Kim

So here it is, my new blog.  Blame Kim. Or should I say, bow down and praise Kim for she has done the impossible.  She should be awarded some fancy, shiny medal with a pretty ribbon for doing what she did.  I’m not referring to the myriad of 5Ks Kim has completed or the half-marathons or relay races she’s done. I’m not even talking about any of the FOUR marathons she’s tore up.  I’m not even talking about the 2011 NYC marathon she ran in a very respectable 4:41:04 (she scored her name in the New York freakin’ Times for that one).  Nope. Her biggest accomplishment to date, in my humble opinion, is getting me to run. and like it.  Wow, I can hear the collective gasps of shock from here! I still wanna pass out from the shock of it all! Here I am, 7  months postpartum and very out of shape.  Koach Kim (as I love to call her) got me to put on running shoes (with awesome purple laces) and run up hills, down hills, around tracks, on treadmills, on the street, and on trails.  All this while I’m trying to balance new parenthood-dom, work, and well, life.

In November, I ran (although I use that term loosely) and finished a 5K  (3.1 Miles) in [I’m not telling how long it took me]. Stick around and I’ll share the gory details. Except for the unflattering race pictures and finish time, of course.

Follow me while I slowly ease into running. It should be interesting.  I’ll set goals and you can hold me accountable for them.  This blog won’t be all about running, though. I have an adorable 7 month old boy that I can’t shut up about. I live in NYC which should provide me with enough blog material for the rest of my life.  I’m looking forward to this new phase in my life.

I’m excited about my new hobby! See, that’s an improvement right there! Before, I used to call running The Fifth Circle of Hell.

Oh, before I forget, go ahead and click on the link to Kim’s blog (above). She’s doing giveaways…

3 thoughts on “Ode to Kim

  1. Nadine says:

    Woo Hoo!! I’m so glad to see you blogging again.

  2. kilax says:

    Aww! You are too sweet. Thanks for the ode! And you have a runner in you! I just had to encourage you to get in touch with it! 🙂 I can’t wait to follow your running and life journeys. I miss you so much! 🙂

    And I think your 5K time was very good 🙂

    P.S. Shall I add you to my blogroll and pimp out your blog? 🙂

  3. mannyed924 says:

    Thanks, Ladies!

    Kim – you may pimp my blog!

Leave a Reply

