Wah Wah Wah

Pity Party time!!!

I don’t know exactly what it was, but Monday’s run sucked. I’m not even going to try to sugar coat it because it just plain sucked. The run felt sluggish and I felt blah the whole time.  I don’t know if it was just a blah work out because it was the day after Christmas or because it had something to do with doing the workout with no food in my system.  I had just gotten up from a rare nap, fed the baby, and decided to hit the treadmill.  Maybe my brain was still a little foggy.

I had a burning feeling in my calves for the majority of the work out.  Wow, talk about annoying! I googled “burning calves” to see what the potential issue could be and found some possible answers on livestrong.com. It seems like the burning calves could be the  result of 1. my (poor) running form and 2. some dehydration.  After the run, I felt stiff and sore – my left knee still has some soreness around the knee cap area which is why I’m wondering about my running form (Kim – maybe you could watch me run the next time you’re in town?).  I haven’t felt crappy during and after a workout at all since I started the Couch to 5k program 4 weeks ago and I felt really bummed out about it.

Week 5 starts tonight and I hope that I have a much better workout or I will probably start feeling really discouraged which is not helpful. Starting at Week 5, the run times increase at each workout and while I’m amped about the challenge, I know if my body doesn’t cooperate I will probably have an internal struggle with myself about giving up.  Yeah, a few lousy workouts is all it takes for me.  Probably something I should work on.

9 thoughts on “Wah Wah Wah

  1. kilax says:

    It wouldn’t be real running if there weren’t some crappy runs thrown in! I have runs every now and then where I just feel so off and it makes me so so so so pissy… those are the rare instances where a run doesn’t make me feel better than when I started!

    But! You have all these good runs look back on for encouragement. And you will have good runs in the future, starting tonight. Just make sure you are hydrated. And that you haven’t just woken up from a nap (that TOTALLY throws me off too).

    I think it is pretty common to have slight aches pop up here and there when you are beginning to run – your body is just like “Wtf, lady? What are we doing?” Unless it persists, don’t worry too much about it. But that knee – do those exercises.

    And I will help you with your form in Feb! Make sure you are not leaning forward (slouching) – that is the big thing that can mess you up.

    Okay, enough preaching. Get out there and run, girrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrllllll!!!!!

    • Gina says:

      Yes, ma’am! I know, how sad is it that I let one stinky run outshine all those awesome runs. I need to work on my attitude. And my form. and my hydration.

  2. museikchik says:

    I think everyone experiences “bad runs”. I know that if I do not hydrate enough I also feel that burning sensation in the calves which is no bueno. I think that happened to me like once or twice and that was enough to ensure I was drinking a few glasses of water with every meal. Once I started doing that, I noticed that the burning sensation in my calves disappeared. As for your Couch to 5K program congrats. Don’t get discouraged. I think it took me awhile before my “good runs” started outnumbering the “bad” ones. Someone posted a picture with a quote that I found inspring. It says, “No matter how slow you are, you are still lapping everyone on the couch”. Sounds a little cheesy but always makes me feel better. Good luck on your next run. 🙂

  3. Gina says:

    Hello, Museikchik! Thanks for stopping by! I def need to get in the habit of drinking more…water. I’ve seen that picture and I think about it a lot! It’s so true. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. Courtney says:

    Ah, I so understand what you mean, all it takes is a few lousy (or what I consider not-good) workouts and my motivation is gone! I really like that quote though!! I give you two paws up for coming as far as you have- and I know with all the support you have you won’t quit!! Honestly, I’m nervous about the increased running times too, but today I told myself “even if I have to repeat a week or even if I can’t run as long as I’m “supposed” too I will not quit”… ok, so I should probably tattoo that on my body where I can see it while I’m running!!! I know you can do it Gina!!! I have full faith in you!!
    =^..^=

  5. Gina says:

    Thanks, Courtney! I always think about how you are running the program, too and that helps a lot with my motivation! You have a really good attitude about it so I KNOW you are going to be fantastic with the increaased time!

  6. Courtney says:

    I’m glad you have confidence in my abilities cause today it was lacking!!! And, of course I forgot the pep talk I gave myself just yesterday!!! Doh!!!
    =^..^=

  7. bobbi says:

    Gotta let the crappy runs roll off your back 🙂 For me I try to remind myself that the next run will SURELY be better! You are doing so well – don’t forget to remind yourself that too! And your little guy is still so little…you are doing GREAT!

  8. Gina says:

    Thanks, Bobbi! Great advice, and I thought about your words a lot this past week! Thanks for stopping by, much appreciated!!

Leave a Reply

