YAY YAY YAY

This post is the complete opposite from last post’s pity party! Week 5 was challenging.  The runs weren’t feeling as easy as they were the past 4 weeks. I don’t know if was from all the extra holiday food laying around or the added extra activities that come with the holidays, but my energy level felt way off.  I got through each of the work outs but I felt wiped out.  Plus, I was dreading workout no. 3 all week.

Work out no. 3 which was on the agenda for last night consisted of a brisk walk for 5 minutes then a two mile (or 20 min) run.  Really? Just like that? No walks? Just run?  For 20 minutes straight? Just like that. I thought the Couch to 5k program must be on crack.   How was I going to be able to do this?! Apparently, the program has more faith in me than I do!

I waited until the baby was asleep, made sure I was hydrated, and let it rip.  Success! It was one of THE BEST runs I had so far.  I was able to get into my zone pretty quickly and I focused less on the time and more on how I was feeling.  No knee pain, no cramps, no burning calves – I had no reason to stop or give up!

I felt so great after I was finished! I was proud of myself for completing the workout and being able to run for 2 miles straight.  A new wave of confidence washed over me and I feel more capable of being able to run the race I’m planning on in February (more on that later).

This was exactly the kind of run I needed in order to forget about last Monday’s crapfest and keep going.

I am so thankful for all the great comments I received on my last post.  It helped me to stop feeling sorry for myself and to keep trying. I need to expect that there will be some crap runs mixed it with some really great runs.  I guess I always thought that once you got the hang of running, the struggle wouldn’t be there.  Now I see that was a pretty unrealistic expectation. It was nice to hear from some runners that every once in a while things don’t always go so smoothly.

 

13 thoughts on “YAY YAY YAY

  1. kilax says:

    TWO WHOLE MILES!!! That is crazy! Congrats! C25K… you tricky little bastard… you really know what you are doing!

    So proud of you, and happy that YOU are proud of you. You should be! 🙂

  2. Kandi says:

    Yay! I can sense your excitement and I love it!!! Running definitely has ups and downs and as you get more acquainted with the sport the ups far outweigh the downs.

  3. Steve (The Husband) says:

    I was great to see you so happy after a run! Keep it up.

  4. Courtney says:

    HOLY CATS GINA!!! Two big (Mr/Uncle Peaches) paws up to you!!!! You go Gina!!! I am so proud of you and I can only dream of the day I can run 2 miles!!! That is super fantastic!! Now you can store that in your memory bank and hopefully that will help erase any doubt about your running skills/ability!!!
    I am SO super proud of you!!!! (If you could see me I have this huge stupid goofy smile on my face!!)
    =^..^=

    • Gina says:

      I will run four hundred million billion miles if you promise to keep saying stuff like “HOLY CATS” and “two big (Mr/Uncle Peaches) paws up…”. You make me giggle.

      • Courtney says:

        I have the super easy end of this deal- running 20 minutes straight or four hundred million billion miles- whew- that is daunting!!!
        You (and Kim) help keep me motivated!!! You go Gina!!! Your excitement and happiness becomes mine too and I am all excited and happy for you (and on top of that more motivated)!! It’s like a big snowball of happiness and excitement that keeps growing!!!
        =^..^=

  5. bobbi says:

    Looks like the C25K program knows a little sumthin sumthin, huh? YAY YOU!! Your excitement and pride is palpable in this post, and well deserved. Congrats 🙂

  6. Great job! It’s amazing when you begin to exceed your expectations and stretch your boundaries!

Leave a Reply

