One Mile at a Time

I haven’t  posted on here for a bit because I kind of been struggling on what to write.  Right now, my runs are all in the basement on the treadmill.  Pretty boring.  Nothing too exciting goes on down there except when The Husband accidentally shuts the light off and I almost kill myself trying to yell at him and not fall off the treadmill at the same time.   Funny how I automatically lose my balance in pitch black darkness.

Last night after the baby was in bed, I had a nice long talk with The Husband about all kinds of stuff.  Just a nice conversation where we talked about everything and nothing.  It was such a nice change of pace since our topics of conversation is usually Baby this and Baby that.  He asked me lots of questions about my running and it felt really good to stop, think about, and discuss my running with him.

One of his questions to me was “How far do you want to take your running – what is your ultimate goal?”  It’s something that I’ve been thinking about for the last couple of weeks.  I’ll be ending Week 7 and starting Week 8 of my 9 week training program.  What should I do after I complete the program? Do I start increasing my mileage? Do I work on speed? So while thinking about the answer, I realized that I don’t want to be a Marathoner.  I don’t think I have the attention span for that.  What I really think I want to do is focus on short distance running.  Run really great, quality 5ks and some 4 milers.  Maybe having an ultimate goal of doing a 10k.  I don’t want to put a time line on it.  I just want to break off little pieces as I go.  For some reason saying all this out loud made me feel energized about my running…and proud. Sometimes I wish I was running 6 miles at once RIGHT. NOW.  I know the distance that I run currently some runners can do in their sleep.  That’s ok. I have to realize that they had to work at it too.  Sometimes I lose sight of that. So, allow me to pat myself om the back for a sec, because right now, running two miles is pretty effing huge for me.  For me, a mile ran is a mileWON.

12 thoughts on “One Mile at a Time

  1. Losing Lindy says:

    What a great attitude.

  2. Steve (The Husband) says:

    I like it, little pieces as you go. Chip away little by little and you will do great! wonMile at a time : )

  3. Kandi says:

    That’s a great attitude to have. However, keep in mind that your goals could change over time, and that’s ok. I never thought I’d run a marathon but I did just this last year. I can still remember the days thinking that 3 miles was impossible but training and doing it anyway. I ran cross country in high school and I was so nervous my first year wondering if I could run that far for many races every year. I never in my wildest dreams thought I would want to run 26.2 miles but I did.
    Just take your time though. You have plenty of time to do whatever it is you want to do with your running.

  4. Courtney says:

    Talks like that are nice and they usually leave me feeling good!
    Gina, I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am of you- week 8 of week 9- AND being able to run 2 miles (I still dream of this)!! You keep me motivated!!! I think you have a great outlook and great goals! I think sometimes me putting a deadline on stuff I really want to accomplish stresses me out (although it can keep me going too- just as long as the deadline is reasonable- such a catch 22)! I totally understand wanting to be able to run 6 miles NOW (for me it’s just 1 mile) but like you said, just keep chipping away at it and working towards what YOU want to do!!! I think you are doing a fantastic job!!!
    =^..^=

  5. kilax says:

    I am so super duper proud of you! I really am. I just keep thinking about all the stupid knee crap you had in Oct – and it’s so cool that you are doing so well now. And that you want to keep going. Your goals will evolve and change. And they can be whatever you want! So many people focus on the marathon, but I do think it’s a BIT overrated (except NYC, ha!). Do what works for you; what excites YOU! Like 10-mile 3 person relays and 5Ks

    (and that HM on Thanksgiving weekend ha ha ahha JUST KIDDING!!!!)

    So so proud of you!

  6. Kandi says:

    I tagged you in a post on my blog. I was bored, but feel free to ignore it if you’re not interested. 😉

  7. Lauren says:

    I think it’s great that you’re thinking critically about what you really want, so that you can focus on that. So often we want ‘everything’ and then don’t feel completely satisfied at the end of a training period. I also think of it as something that we can do in phases, like “I’m working on speed right now, at getting a faster 5K, and then this summer I’ll plan to increase my distance.”

Leave a Reply

