(3) Mile(s)WON

Well, hello there long lost bloggers! Let me just dust some of these cob webs off of here.  Ok.  Good.  So, yes, Forgive me Father for I have sinned. It’s been XX days since my last confession post.

A lot has been going on at work; at home; with running – that I haven’t had time to sit down and write.  Let me right that wrong right now.

So big news in my running world!  Sound the trumpets – big announcement coming: I. FINISHED. THE. C25K. RUNNING. PROGRAM (caps and one word sentences very necessary). I can run three miles, yo! Mmm hmmm.   I can run three miles outside, I can run three miles inside. I can run three miles while listening to music, I can run three miles and drink from a water bottle. I can’t run three miles in the wind (another story) and I’m not quite sure if I can run and talk at the same time yet.

In true I-just-won-an-Oscar fashion; here is my speech:

I would like to thank God for giving me two legs and I would like to thank Kim because she reminded me that I should actually use those two legs.  All kidding aside, big huge thanks to Kim.  She motivated and encouraged me every step of the way. She was one of the few people who didn’t roll her eyes when I said things like, “I ran three minutes straight today!”.  Although, most of those proclamations were via text messages, so maybe she could have been rolling her eyes. I doubt it though.  Another awesome pal: Courtney.  She always made me feel that the simple act of getting on the treadmill was the biggest accomplishment to hit all of mankind. Walk on the moon? Whatever! Gina ran on the treadmill today – YAY! Courtney was an amazing cheerleader and it felt great to have her in my corner.   Can’t forget The Husband! While I tried doing most of my runs while the baby was sleeping, there were plenty of times he took the reins so I could squeeze in a run.  He always gave me priority when it came to using the treadmill.  After one workout, I walked into the living room to see him and my son holding on to a sign that said “ GO GINA GO!”  Aww!  I have since put that sign near the treadmill.  I would also like to thank all of you.  Your comments, encouragement, and suggestions meant the world to me.  I know many of you are not running rookies so the fact that you took the time to read and comment on my running ramblings really made me smile.

So what’s next? More running! I want to work on my endurance – right now I hit Mile 2 and it’s constant mental warfare in my mind all the way to Mile 3.  I would like for that not to happen.  After my legs and head are on the same page about running, I would like to work on my pace.  Faster, please. I feel like the fact that I used to complain about running a minute straight and now can run 3 miles straight – I can do (almost) anything as long as I work at it.  I would like to find another training program because I liked having weekly goals and challenges.  I will probably look into one once I can run three miles with more ease.

6 thoughts on “(3) Mile(s)WON

  1. kilax says:

    YAY! HUGE CONGRATS ON C25K. I keep saying it (and I hope it doesn’t get old) but I am so damn proud of you. You really stuck with C25K and worked hard and look! Now you can run 3 miles!!! AMAZING!

    Thanks for the shout out. I was never rolling my eyes. I miss your texts. Sigh. Still not sure what to do about the broken phone (it’s officially effed up). <– Off topic

    I miss you and your funny sense of humor. Your blog gives me a taste of that. Post more! I cannot wait to hear about how you keep running, and making those three miles easier.

    Congrats, Gina!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Kandi says:

    Congrats!! That’s fantastic news!
    A girl who’s blog I read just became a certified coach and created a new blog specifically about running. She did a series of what to do after the C25K program. Here are the links if you are interested.
    http://runmuffin.blogspot.com/2011/12/after-couch-to-5k-making-your-runs.html
    http://runmuffin.blogspot.com/2011/12/after-couch-to-5k-recipe-for-getting.html
    http://runmuffin.blogspot.com/2011/12/after-couch-to-5k-plan-for-recreational.html

  3. Steve (The Husband) says:

    I am so proud of you! Putting your mind (and body) to it and you did it. Even with the busy schedule, you have completed the program. And of course, I will continue to support and do what I can to keep you on track for future goals. Endurance and pace will improve each run you complete I think. I look forward to hearing more on goals met and your future goals.

    I hope that some of your determination rubs off on me : )

    Love you!

  4. bobbi says:

    YAY!! I might not be a running rookie, but I can certainly remember when I was (and it wasn’t all that long ago!)…congratulations! You are kicking butt!

  5. Courtney says:

    Like Kim said, I can’t tell you how proud of you I am (and I hope it doesn’t get old)!!! I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!!! You set your mind to this and you did it!! And look, now you can run 3 whole miles (and I am not being sarcastic at all- I am like wow)!!!! You Go Gina!!! Oh, your blog made me tear up a bit (and laugh), your shout outs and the sign that LP was holding!!! That is so sweet!!! I can’t even read that without tearing up!!! Gina, I’m always in your corner!!! And I will always be your cheerleader!!! Plus, you help keep me motivated and you give me hope I can do this!!!
    =^..^=

Leave a Reply

