Basement running

Let’s be honest, part of the reason that I crapped out at last Sunday’s 5k was due in part to the hot and humid weather we’ve been…enjoying…and my lack of running due to the yuck weather.  I see lots of people busting their butts outside in the sweltering summer heat, but I just can’t bring myself to do it.  Whenever I think about going outside and putting in a few miles in the heat, I think about ice pops and air conditioning.  I can handle ice pops and air conditioning way better than asphalt and humidity so ice pops usually win out and I never make it outside the front door. Before I know it, days and weeks go by without me lacing up my running shoes.  It makes me feel guilty and lazy.

I’ve come a long way since I started this running stuff in October 2011.  I remember when I started out I would walk then run for two minutes and those two minutes would seem like two hours!  

So after the hot and humidity 5k, I thought about what I could do with my running during the summer. The hotter it gets the less I want to run.  I don’t want running in the heat to make me hate running forever, so I was trying to think of a good compromise.  I decided to get reacquainted with my basement treadmill.  During the summer, I figured what I would do is bust out a mile a couple of times a week.   Simple enough.  This way I could still get my run on and deal with the heat.   The basement gets humid so focusing on one mile at a time helps me push through the un-comfortableness.  I hope this will help me not to lose some of the endurance I’ve gained. Who knows, maybe as I just focus on doing a good quality mile, I will start to get used to running in the humidity.  Something to hold me over until the cooler temps roll in.  

The treadmill also will serve another purpose.  When I run outside my legs just tend to stop running when I don’t want them to.  My brain says “Push through! Keep going!” and my legs are like “whatever.” and they just stop. If I just stop on the treadmill, I’ll probably smash into the wall so that thought alone is enough to keep my legs moving.   When the temperature feels good, I’ll go outside and give myself a change of scenery.  

How do you adjust your activities and exercise in the hotter temps? Or do you just continue to do what you were doing in the cooler seasons?

3 thoughts on “Basement running

  1. Steve (Husband) says:

    I like my Ice pops and Ice cream! And every other snack : ) So, eatting or running is an easy pick when its blazing outside.

    I like the one mile approach and might try it out myself. Its good to get some running in and will help in the long run. Hey, running is running and exercise is exercise in my eyes.

    Treadmill seems to be a good tool to keep going. And, well, knowing about that wall behind too : )

  2. kilax says:

    The fact that it is more difficult to stop and walk on the treadmill is a very good point! Get on there for your mile and get going! Before you know it, it will be over! And training in the humid basement is good 🙂 And an ice pop reward after!

    I still run outside when it’s hot, but run about 2 mins per mile slower, drink a full Nathan water bottle every 3 miles and put ice in my bra. And I stop and rest in the shade some times. It’s all about survival for me! 🙂

  3. Courtney says:

    I think your running plan sounds like a good idea!! And like you said, hopefully running in the humid basement will help you adapt to running in the hot nasty weather too! I am proud of you for sticking with it Gina!! And a well deserved ice pop or treat afterwards is always good incentive to get it over with!! :o)
    =^..^=

Leave a Reply

