Gold Medal in Complaining.

Goes to me! Anybody want my autograph?

I love when the Olympics roll into town – or rather, show up on my TV, nightly.  I remember always being infatuated with the Winter and Summer games as a child – always wishing I could jet off to the host country to be there in person.  I loved watching all my favorite events and holding my breath in anticipation, hoping the Gold Medal would be achieved by the athlete or team du jour.   

This year?  I’m not feeling it.  I feel so disconnected and grumpy about it and I think it’s due in large part to the coverage.  I’m not digging any of the commentators. I feel like most of their commentary is a bunch of negative drivel. They seem to take pleasure in trying to conjure up unnecessary drama. They harp and harp on disappointment and loss a lot more than achievement and victory.  I feel like the athletes deserve much better than that. Much like this post keeps harping on the suckiness of the Olympic coverage.

I’m not digging the constant back and forth sporting event coverage.  First I’m watching one sporting event that gets interrupted by another sporting event that gets interrupted by another event and back to the original sporting event.  I just don’t ever remember it being that way, although The Husband assures me it has always been like that. I guess I’m getting old and cranky.

Social media is doing a great job in spoiling all the highlights.  Hey, I get that some people want to know the Olympic news the second it happens and I’m cool with that, but maybe websites (I am looking at you, MSN) could invest in a little something called a spoiler alert? Maybe make it a little bit harder to see which country in gymnastics took home the Gold.  Sigh.  

One of my favorite things about the TV Olympic coverage is learning new things about the host city.  This year all I keep seeing is the London Eye and Daniel Craig. As eye pleasing and exciting as those two things are, I am sure there are lots more to London than a ferris wheel. Maybe I’m just missing all the good Inside London segments?  

The saving grace for this year’s Olympics for me is the texting spurts I have during the prime-time coverage with a friend.  A great alternative when you can’t all gather in one living room.  

How do you feel about Olympic coverage this year? 

7 thoughts on “Gold Medal in Complaining.

  1. Steve (Husband) says:

    Autograph please! : )

    Yeah, its kinda been a disappointment. Online is the real fustrating part. The gymnastics is a big team event and people look forward to watching. I understand the time difference and all, but do they need to post it on the front page of MSN. Kinda hard to avoid the news at that point!! I would suggest a link saying if you want to know results, click here. Is it that hard? The positive…no stress while we watch. But still, that is part of the games and experience. What will happen next! But the wonderful world wide web has killed that.

    The jumping back and forth from event to event does get annoying. But I think they try to hit as many event as posible. The one thing I don’t understand is, who picks the events they show. Clearly, they can’t show it all, but why not that random stuff? Maybe I am missing it on the secondary channels, but seems like prime time is all swimming.

    • Gina says:

      I’m sure you are tired of my Olympic rants, by now. The jumping back and forth reminds me of when I let you hold the remote control, lol!

  2. kilax says:

    I know a lot of people agree with you about the negativity & drama – including me. It’s ANNOYING! How many times are they going to show Jordyn Wieber crying? And why is her name misspelled?!

    I am surprised I am NOT seeing spoilers. I don’t visit MSN or yahoo or any of those sites. And I am not on twitter and people are keeping mum on Facebook. I say that now and I bet it will start happening! LOL! I know I am ANXIOUS to see the women’s marathon on Sunday!

    Our live texts are the best! Wait! You were talking about ME, right?!?!?

    Speaking of that, I won’t be home until 8:00 cst tonight. Let me know what I miss from 7:00-8:00 cst! I AM COUNTING ON YOU to tell me which sports they flipped back and forth between.

    (P.S. Have you checked out the live streaming on the NBC Olympics site? It feels so weird not to have the awful commentary on it…)

    • Gina says:

      Oddly, FB has been very spoiler-free! Hmm. Yes, I was talking about you with my live texts! #livesnarkontapedelayftw I was afraid if I linked your blog you would be overwhelmed with all the blog traffic from here, haha.

  3. Kandi says:

    I agree about the negative commentary! I watched some of the gymnastics and was a little shocked when, instead of saying how disappointing or heartbreaking something was, they’d say how poorly executed it was (although I think it was even more negative than that!). I mean, these young (very young!) girls made it to the Olympics!! Obviously they are skilled at their sport. It was very discouraging. Do they not imagine family/friends/the actual athletes they are referring to viewing what they are saying!?

  4. Gina says:

    I’m glad I not the only one. I was feeling a little like a crazy old woman while writing this post. Good point about the girls being so young – I think the commentators forget that! I was appalled that they kept harping on gymnastist Jordyn Weiber not making the individual events instead of focusing on the fact that she put on her brave face and did what she had to do for the TEAM. Shameful.

  5. Nadine says:

    I’m not into any of it. at. all. They cheat or throw at such an asinine game like badminton and throw out Softball all together, I’ve lost that lovin’ feelin’ for it.

Leave a Reply

