What’s Your Motivation

It’s time for a workout/run/activity/doing something other than sitting on the couch.  How do you get motivated?  What gets you going? Me? I am a professional at coming up with excuses for not running on any given day.  Too hot. Too humid.  Too tired.  Too late.  It’s Wednesday.  It’s stormy. The baby doesn’t feel well.  I don’t feel well. I can come up with anything and talk myself out of a run very easily.  I feel like a lazy piece of crap,  but meh.  I keep doing it.  I came across the below quote that is really helping me get my butt in gear lately:

Just change “going outside” to “going down to the humid basement of hell” and that would describe my motivation lately.  I can’t tell you how many times I have to tell myself that I will feel way more awesome finishing a run than dealing with the guilt and feelings of laziness when I talk myself out of run.  This usually gets me off my arse  and down to the basement.   The saying is true, you will never regret going out (or in) for a run (or any other type of exercise, really). Even on the days where my runs leave me feeling tired and achy,  the sense of accomplishment feels way better that sitting on the couch. Some days I have to repeat this quote over and over and over to get myself going, but it works.  It gets the job done. Not to mention, it’s always waaaaaaaaaaay better telling Koach Kim I completed a run.  That’s my motivation for getting my sneakers laced.

The Track and Field portion of the Olympics has started. I’ve been looking forward to watching a lot of the different races hoping to show the brain how it’s done. I was eagerly anticipating the Women’s Marathon.  I made sure to be up at 6AM to watch it live.  Man, those ladies can run! Mind blowing. I can’t even comprehend running 26.2 miles in under 2 1/2 hours.  Incredible.  I can’t even imagine running 26.2 miles in under 5 hours.  Who am I kidding, I can’t even imagine running 26.2 miles, period.  My favorite part of the race, seeing Kara Goucher and Shalane Flanagan supporting each other after a grueling race marred by crap weather.  These are the moments that remind me why I love the Olympics. After annoying commercial breaks, poor commentary, and Olympic sized spoilers lately, I was so grateful  for the reminder. Two women running for the same country with the same goal are still able to look outside of themselves and hold each other up.  Nice.

Let’s hear it folks, what’s your motivation? Got any favorite Olympic moments thus far?

8 thoughts on “What’s Your Motivation

  1. Steve (Husband) says:

    Its very true, there is always something going on or a fork in the road. And its always easy to take that fork that doesn’t involve going to the basement. Any exercise is good exercise. Even if its a mile on the treadmill or a session of yoga.

    I think my motivation tool is, yup, you : ) Who would have thought that I would be running 5Ks (yup there is a “s” on that) in a year. And its great that we get to do them together sometimes. Can’t believe that we are taking our 5Ks on the road and out of state. Should be a fun one!

    As for my Olympic moments…well, the spoilers online have been my least favorite. But my favorite, the 100M to see how quick these people can run. Its crazy to watch and focus on the feet…can’t even see them they are moving so quick!

  2. Courtney says:

    My motivation to get off the couch and go workout (right now) is my desire to run a 5k in 2012! Plus, you, Steve, and Kim motivate me!! I tell myself, they can run 5k’s, they run & exercise & “practice” you can do it too!!! Somehow that works for me!!
    I am so super proud of you for running and for sticking with it!!! And I love the motivation I get from reading your race recaps and blog posts!!
    I have really been enjoying the majority of the Olympics- except for the skipping around!!! I re-started the Couch to 5k training today- at this point I can’t even imagine running a 5k!!
    =^..^=

    • Gina says:

      Courtney, you can totally do this! I’m glad you are getting back into it! You’ll be running a 5k in no time, trust me!

      I HATE all the skipping around, too. Drives me crazy.

  3. kilax says:

    That photo of Kara and Shalane totally reminds me of two people. Who is it? Hmm, hmm, hmm…

    It’s Gina and Kim! LOL

    I’ll say it here becuase I know you won’t judge. I like watching the Olympic Bloopers in gymnastics and diving. As long as no one gets hurt. And it doesn’t eff up their score too much.

    My motivation is my credibility. I post my workouts each week and that keeps me going. No one would care if I didn’t run, but the thought that someone might care entices me.

    • Gina says:

      YES! It reminds me of us, too! Let’s recreate that photo on Sat (possibly Sunday…).

      Just so you know, I read all the training recaps. I look for them every Sunday. Muahahah.

      Olympic bloopers are. awesome. So is Olympic snark.

Leave a Reply

