I Am a Runner (says Courtney)

I received a really special surprise in the mail the other day! It was such an unexpected and lovely surprise- the best kind of surprises! When I saw the box waiting for me at my door step, I couldn’t figure out what it could be.  I don’t know if anyone else is like this, but when I see a unexpected box at my doorstep, I stop and stare at the box from approximately two feet away and check to make sure it isn’t some sort of mirage.   After confirming that it is indeed real, I usually lunge for the box and check out who the name of the package! There is always those few minutes of dread that creeps in that maybe the package was meant to be delivered to a neighbor instead (doesn’t THAT suck!). After confirming that yes, it is a real package, that yes it is for ME, I allowed myself to get all giddy.

The Husband asked, “what did you order now?” as I wracked my brain with my recent Amazon purchases. As far as I could recall, I already received all my recent orders. I checked the return address label and saw that package was from a shop called The Run Home. This only made me even more curious and even more excited to rip open the box! Of course, my son wanted to inspect the box for a bit so the anticipation of what could be inside just kept building. It was killing me!

I finally got the box away from my son by enticing him with one of his blocks.  I ripped open the box like a five year old on Christmas morning and found a cute little box with a silver bow. Inside the box was this:

ImageThe card with the package told me that my friend, Courtney sent this incredible awesome necklace in honor of my personal record from my last race!  Let me tell you a little bit about this necklace.  As you can see, the necklace has a couple of charms surrounding the I AM A RUNNER charms.  One charm says the date of my last race in Illinois and a charm says 5K, the distance I ran. There is another charm which you can’t see from this picture, it says the time I finished the 5K: 34:27.  It’s the fastest I have ran 3.1 miles to date.  I was just really blown away by the sentiment and the thoughtfulness.  I have a hard time considering myself a runner so seeing this necklace really melted my heart.  I told Courtney that I considered this my first race medal, haha.

Thank you so much, Courtney! I wish I could tell you exactly how receiving that necklace made me feel! It was such a fun race for me on so many levels and it’s really special to have something tangible to commemorate that race.  You have been such a power house when it comes to supporting me and my running.  Running is something I thought I would never do, and you have helped me get out there and do it so many times with your motivational words and genuine interest.

I really am a lucky girl to have a great set of friends that help me push myself. We should all be so lucky to have that in our lives.

Do you have someone in your life that inspires you, motivates you or is supportive in your endeavors?

5 thoughts on “I Am a Runner (says Courtney)

  1. kilax says:

    Courtney is so thoughtful! And she has great taste! 🙂 I love this necklace. There is a lot of cool stuff on that site!

    It is like your first medal and you should be proud of yourself and that race because you ARE a runner! You are working hard and making progress and it is showing 🙂

    My friends support me the most. Especially you. You actually ask about my races and training. And… I will leave that at that before I start saying negative things about other people… ha ha ha ha 🙂

  2. Courtney says:

    I have to give Debbie at The Run Home a lot of credit- I had an idea of what I wanted to do but she was the one who actually did the “hard work” and put it together! I really like her Etsy store!

    Gina, YOU ARE A RUNNER!!! I am really glad that you liked your necklace- I was really hoping you would and I was hoping you would know how proud of you I am! You have come such a long way and you are such an inspiration and motivation to me! You deserve your first race medal!!!

    You and Kim both inspire and motivate me!! Your emails, texts, and blogs keep me inspired and motivated when I am just about ready to quit. AND you both get me excited about running- something I never ever ever thought would/could happen to me (even outside)! I consider myself uber lucky to have you both in my life and to genuinely seem to care about me and my goals (no matter how silly they may be)!!

    =^..^=

  3. Losing Lindy says:

    what a lovely necklace! I love it.

  4. Steve (The Husband) says:

    As stated before, you are my motivator. Its hard sometimes to get up and get running. But a little (okay big kick in the a$$) push from the wife always helps. The days get long and are tiring, so sometimes you need that extra push to hit your goals.

    Courtney – what a great gift to mark such a great race for Gina. Its so cool to have a “medal.”

Leave a Reply

