Recap Rewind – Part II: The Texas Series

Howdy, y’all. The Cherry Tree Relay marked my last official race in NY. Before I even moved, I signed The Husband and myself up for a 10K in Dallas. I was feeling pretty good from all my running and felt I could take on the new distance. Well, that turned in a colossal pipe dream. Hindsight is 20/20 because looking back at that decision, it was pretty stupid of me.

I started scouting out the Dallas area racing scene way before le move. I found the Disco 5K and 10K that looked sooo much fun – plus they promised a “huge disco medal” for all the finishers. I must have been blinded by the disco bling because I signed up for the 10K with little thought of logistics. After we moved to Texas and was able to focus on the impending race, I realized the following issues:

The race started at 7:45 AM and was approximately 45 mins away from my house. Gulp.

I didn’t have a babysitter for my son and the website said “no strollers” on the course. Uh oh.

It was May already and I hadn’t run AT ALL since February. Crap de la crap.

I really wasn’t sure what to do about the race and I was totally sweating it out. I really had little confidence that I could run a 10K and hello! No babysitter! The husband said he would sit it out, but I felt really bad that he would miss out on a finisher’s medal and that we would have to eat his race entry fee. Plus, I didn’t want to run my first 10K solo. Wah, wah, wah. So, I got my shite together and emailed the race organizer asking if we could switch from the 10K to the 5K. They replied that it would be no problem. Phew. But, what about the no babysitter issue? I do have some close friends nearby but asking someone to get up early on a Saturday morning to watch a squirmy two year old didn’t sit well with me. I couldn’t bring myself to ask. So, the husband and I decided that we would both suit up for the 5K and ask at the race if we could use the jogging stroller. If not, the husband would sit it out.

When we got to the race we asked the volunteers at the registration desk if we could run with the jogging stroller and they gave us a big smile and said sure! WAHOOOO! I felt the stress melt off immediately. Now with the background out of the way, on to the recap of my first Texas race.

Disco 5K and 10K | Fair Park, Dallas, Texas – May 19, 2013

Highlights: Receiving the finisher medal at the finish line. A volunteer also gave one to my son which I thought was uber cool. I was happy to have survived the race since that was my first run in a long time. Another runner dressed up in a huge disco ball and had music playing from somewhere inside the disco ball. I laughed so hard when I saw that awesomeness. The one thing that stands out for me about this race is not running related at all. After finishing, I was more proud that the husband and I ventured out and did the race and made it work. I was happy that we didn’t have to rely on anyone else and it felt kinda good. Go us! The husband did great pushing my son in the jogger. No easy feat, people, my son is a solid 36ish lbs.

Low lights: The course was meh. There was a long stretch of nothingness and it made the course a little boring. It was 75 degrees with about 75% humidity at the start of the race. No bueno for me but something I have to get used to in TX.

Post Race Eats: To die for pancakes! My stomach felt a little off so I only had a bite of these amazingly good pancakes and wished my tummy wasn’t arguing with me. The husband chowed down on them and couldn’t believe how good they were. He still talks about it to this day. I opted for an orange and shared a banana with my son. Muscle Milk was there giving out samples. We had some brunch at Corner Bakery when we got towards home.

Race Swag: FINISHER MEDAL! Hooray! Tie dye t-shirt.

As far as tackling a 10K? I think I’ll give it a whirl in the fall and will probably do it solo.

Fireworks 5K | McKinney, TX – July 4th, 2013

Highlights: Interesting course running through a master planned community, under a tunnel (ECHO! ECHO!), and a nice stretch of shade. A Dad with his family watching the race from his front lawn shouting out encouragement and course information to the runners. His kids were banging on a cow bell. Fun for the runners but probably not so fun for his next door neighbors at 8 something in the morning haha! I loved it! My son telling us to “GO, GO, GO!” and “FASTER!”. He’s a tough coach and available for all your race pacing needs.

Low lights: The finish line was in complete sun. It felt hard to push it at the end when the sun was bbbbblazing straight into your eyes. What? There are these things called sunglasses to shield your eyes from the sun?! I’ll have to check into these contraptions. What’s that you say? Visors? Hmmm…

Post Race Eats: There was none. NONE. NOOOOOOONE. No food = cranky Gina. They ran out of water, too. I’m not saying all races should have a gourmet spread post race (who am I kidding, YES THEY SHOULD!) but when the website mentioned free Starbucks and snow cones, you kinda get a little a lot stabby when there are no signs of Starbucks and snow cones. Dammit, maybe all the fasties took all the good stuff. Time to up my game. The husband made some breakfast for us at home and we bought our own damn Starbucks.

Race Swag: A tech t-shirt. A local chiropractor gave out towels at the finish line which came in handy to wipe the massive amount of sweat off of…everywhere.

One more race recap and you’ll be all caught up. Happy dance!

 

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Recap Rewind – Part II: The Texas Series

  1. Courtney says:

    I am so glad you are blogging your race recaps- I am really enjoying them!!!

    The Disco 5k sounds like a lot of fun!!! I know you will be ready for the 10k next year!! Super cool that Luca was able to participate and even got a medal (and a tie-dye t-shirt, I love me some tie-dye!!)!!

    I can’t believe that the Fireworks 5k didn’t have any post-race food!!! Boo!!! Poor planning!! The dad and his kids were awesome- encouraging the runners with their cowbells!! And it sounds like Luca is a great coach!!!

    I am really proud of you for sticking with the running (and for blogging your race recaps)!!! You are very inspiring for us non-runners!!!
    =^..^=

    • Gina says:

      Thanks, Courtney! I’m glad you’re enjoying the recaps! It makes writing them worth it! Def lots of fun races in the Big D! Bonus point, Dallas!

Leave a Reply

