Recap Rewind – 1.31M = Runner’s High

So this last recap will make me all caught up in the race recap world! My latest race was more of a sprint than anything else.  It was billed as the

Moo Cow Mini Marathon | Fair Park, Dallas, Texas – July 20, 2013

Now I know I wrote marathon but it wasn’t really quite a marathon unless you’re a cow. Huh? Say Whaaa you say? When I say marathon, I mean a half marathon. When I say a half marathon, I mean 1.31 miles.  I’ll let the race website explain, The Moo Cow Mini  will be “2.62 miles in the Moo Cow Mini Marathon and 1.31 miles in the Moo Cow Mini Half Marathon. To a cow 2.62 miles is a marathon!” So there ya have it! If I chatted with a Cow down the road, he would be very proud of my halfie. Gimmicky? Yes.  A hell of a lot of fun, YES, again! (Side note: I urge you to take a peek at the FAQs on the website. Hilar. Love a race that doesn’t take themselves too seriously). I signed up for the half marathon and I’m so glad that I did because it was a blazing hot race morning.  It was me, the husband, and our son back in the jogging stroller.  Since we signed up for the shorter race we decided to just go all out and haul our butts from the get go. And we did! We hit our fastest pace ever and came in 16th and 17th place overall. The husband took 1st in his Age Group and I took 2nd in mine.  I was on a running high for days and it definitely put back a little running spark in my step. We had a blast and that’s what matters – not so much the distance. Who cares if it was a gimmicky race? It was a great opportunity to try something different and a great reminder not to take racing so serious.

Highlights: Taking home some hardware! A finisher medal and an Age Group medal. The husband and I both taking home awards was icing on the cake! So glad that I didn’t shy away from this race because of the short distance.

Low-lights: None. This one ranks as one of my all time faves. I hope to do it next year!

Post-Race Eats: Bananas, Nutri-grain bars, and lots and lots of water.  Free cans of Monster Energy Drink Samples.

Race Swag: Finisher Medal and a tech t-shirt.

Next race: a Zombie race in September unless I find a Labor Day race that sparks my interest.   Signing up for races is definitely helping us to explore more and more of the Dallas metroplex area (and beyond!).

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Recap Rewind – 1.31M = Runner’s High

  1. kilax says:

    Hee hee hee – we always say that Data says one block of the sidewalk is a marathon! It sounds like he has a similar mindset to the cows!

    That is so so awesome that you guys placed and more importantly, had a blast! Are you thinking of doing any more mile races? They seem to be becoming popular – the last two issues of Runner’s World and Running Times talked about them!

    You mentioned that the race was “gimmicky” twice. Were people making you feel bad about that? I hope not! You should do whatever races excite you! 🙂

  2. Courtney says:

    LMAO!! I love a cows mindset!!! The FAQ’s were too funny and I loved the race website!! Big props to you and Steve for your placing in your age group!! Very very nice (especially since the jogging stroller was involved)!! It sounds like y’all had a great time!!! I’m really excited that y’all have been running all over the Metroplex! What a great way to explore more places! I can’t wait til the Zombie race, that should be fun!!
    =^..^=

Leave a Reply

