Taper Time.

Hey ya’ll you guys! Guess what I’m doing this week! Tapering, ya’ll! This is like, a huge milestone in my life.  This is my first taper and I feel like I need to document this moment in time.  My first half marathon is this Sunday and I successfully made it through my training plan! Tapering is weird.  I thought that I would really enjoy the low mileage week but it feels all wrong.  I feel like I should be running more and I am slighting worried that I’ll forget how to run this week. But on the flip side, I feel like I have all this free time on my hands to do stuff.  Which kinda sucks, because I have more time to worry about forgetting how to run.  Oh God.  People don’t forget how to run do they? DO THEY?!?!

So, I’m trying to have a relaxed week and not over think the Half too much.  The training is done, I put in the effort, I am proud of my effort so I’m trying to focus on that this week.  

Each day I’ll try to recap some of my favorite moments from training.  Here’s today’s:

Realizing I can run long(er) distances! I remember feeling way overwhelmed when I looked at the half training program as a whole.   It’s really easy to get freaked out about running 12 miles when you haven’t even ran 6 yet, but I figured out pretty quickly to focus one week at a time. Sometimes I had to even knock it back to one day at a time. That’s a good life lesson, if you ask me.  One day at a time, one step at a time.  On race day, I’ll try to keep in mind that each step is bringing me closer to that finish line. 

 

 

 

 

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “Taper Time.

  1. kilax says:

    Ha ha ha! Taper Madness! At least you don’t have the full brunt of it, which includes phantom pains that make you think you can’t run. Er, wait. Maybe I shouldn’t have said that! 😉 LOL!

    I totally feel that way when I taper, like, this is bs, I want to go run my normal amount 🙂 But your legs will appreciate the rest 🙂

    That is a good lesson to apply to life too. I mean, really, a reminder to be in the moment and not jump so far ahead and worry about things to come! Stick to the plan and you’ll get there, right? (if there is a plan, lol)

    • Gina says:

      well, this explains that weird leg pain I’m having. Hmm…JK. No phantom pains thank God – except for the hunger pains in my belly. Those are real.

  2. Courtney says:

    I think it’s pretty awesome that you are feeling like you should be running more!!! And I am so excited for your half!!! I think a relaxed week is a great idea! Surely you can’t forget how to run in a week! 🙂 I’m looking forward to your recaps from training and to hear how the half goes!!!
    =^..^=

  3. Anne says:

    Congrats on making it through your training!!!! The hard part is already over (I mean all of those miles! 13.1 is nothing at this point!). I’ll tell you what everyone told me, trust in your training and enjoy your victory lap this weekend! Good luck on Sunday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

